Buchanan Named as Member of Leadership of Nation’s Lieutenant Governors Association

WSOS 9-28-21

Wyoming’s Secretary of State Ed Buchanan is serving on the leadership committee for the National Lieutenant Governors Association (NLGA).  NLGA is the professional association supporting lieutenant governors and the officeholders first in line of succession to governor in all 50 states and the U.S. territories in the goal of being as effective and as efficient as possible for constituents.  

Secretary Buchanan is serving as West Region at Large member of the NLGA Executive Committee.  “His peers find Secretary Buchanan to be an engaged leader who works across party, state, regional, and territorial lines to develop and share ideas from supporting business development to ensuring election safety and security,” said NLGA Director Julia Brossart.       

“I am honored to be selected for this appointment by an outstanding group of professionals,” Secretary Buchanan said regarding his appointment.  “I commit to applying my skills and abilities to address issues of import to both the association and to the constituents of the states and territories we serve.” 

Secretary Buchanan was appointed by a bi-partisan vote of his peers and his service begins immediately.  He will serve through July of 2022.   

The committee meets about three times a year and is responsible for charting the course of issues and professional development to be pursued by the nation’s second-highest state officeholders.  In addition to its specific duties, the committee addresses issues of mutual concern to all states and territories.   

Secretary Buchanan was appointed Wyoming’s 22nd Secretary of State by Governor Mead on March 1, 2018. Secretary Buchanan serves as the State’s Chief Elections Officer, Securities Commissioner, Corporations Administrator, and Notaries Public Commissioner. Additionally, he chairs the State Canvassing Board and serves with Wyoming’s other statewide elected officials on the State Loan and Investment Board, the Board of Land Commissioners and the State Building Commission.