Wyoming’s Yarbrough First Team All MW, Cowboys Picked 5th In Division

By Staff 7-28,2015

Eddie Yarbrough, Wyoming’s standout senior defensive end, was chosen by Mountain West Conference media to the conference’s Preseason All-Conference team on Tuesday. The announcement was made as the 2015 Mountain West Media Days opened at The Cosmopolitan in Las Vegas, Nev.
It was the second consecutive year that Yarbrough was named to the Mountain West Preseason Team. The native of Aurora, Colo., earned First Team All-Mountain West honors at the conclusion of both his sophomore (2013) and junior (2014) seasons. He will be seeking his third postseason honor from the Mountain West at the conclusion of the upcoming 2015 season.
Yarbrough is also one of the top returning defensive linemen in the nation in 2015, and is a leading All-America candidate. He is one of nine returning First Team All-MW selections from 2014 to be voted to the preseason team. He is one of 17 seniors to be named to the 25-man, 2015 Preseason All-Mountain West Teams.
Seven different schools were represented on the MW Preseason offensive squad, while six different MW schools had representatives on the defensive All-Conference team.
As a team, the Cowboys were selected to finish fifth in the MW Mountain Division. Wyoming received 64 total points in the vote of conference media. Boise State was chosen as the preseason favorite in the MW Mountain Division. The Broncos received 28 of 30 first-place votes, and 177 total points. San Diego State was voted the preseason favorite in the West Division. The Aztecs received 27 of 30 first-place votes, and like Boise State also received a total of 177 total points.


Mountain Division (First-Place Votes), Total Points
1. Boise State (28) 177
2. Utah State (2) 150
3. Colorado State 108
4. Air Force 90
5. Wyoming 64
6. New Mexico 41

West Division
1. San Diego State (27) 177
2. Fresno State (3) 141
3. Nevada 113
4. San José State 91
5. Hawai‘i 70
6. UNLV 38


DL Eddie Yarbrough* Sr. Wyoming
DL Alex Hansen** Sr. Air Force
DL Kamalei Correa* Jr. Boise State
DL Ian Seau** Sr. Nevada
LB Tanner Vallejo** Jr. Boise State
LB Kyler Fackrell Sr. Utah State
LB Nick Vigil* Jr. Utah State
DB Weston Steelhammer* Jr. Air Force
DB Donte Deayon** Sr. Boise State
DB Darian Thompson* Sr. Boise State
DB Damontae Kazee** Jr. San Diego State

QB Chuckie Keeton Sr. Utah State
WR Rashard Higgins* Jr. Colorado State
WR Devonte Boyd** So. UNLV
RB Donnel Pumphrey* Jr. San Diego State
RB Marteze Waller** Sr. Fresno State
OL Marcus Henry* Sr. Boise State OL Rees Odhiambo** Sr. Boise State
OL Alex Fifita Sr. Fresno State
OL Ben Clarke Sr. Hawaiʻi
OL Pearce Slater Sr. San Diego State
TE Steven Walker* Sr. Colorado State

P Alex Boy** Sr. Nevada
PK Donny Hageman Sr. San Diego State
Ret. Carlos Wiggins Sr. New Mexico

Preseason Offensive Player of the Year: Rashard Higgins, Jr., WR, Colorado State
Preseason Defensive Player of the Year: Kyler Fackrell, Sr., LB, Utah State
Preseason Special Teams Player of the Year: Donny Hageman, Sr., PK, San Diego State
* – member of the 2014 All-Mountain West first team.
** – member of the 2014 All-Mountain West second team.