Four Incumbents Ousted in Laramie County General Election

By Kari Eakins – 4 Nov ’14

Four Laramie County incumbents were voted out of office on Tuesday night in the general election. Laramie County Commissioner M. Lee Hasenhauer, Cheyenne City Councilman Sean Allen, House District 12 Representative Lee Filer and Laramie County School District #1 Trustee Anne Beckle all failed in their re-election efforts.

Unofficial 2014 Laramie County General Election Results

In the race for Laramie County Commissioner, democrat Ron Kailey edged out republican incumbent Hasensauer for the third seat. Kailey says he knew it was going to be an uphill battle to unseat a republican, but thanks the voters of Laramie County for having faith in him, and says he wants to get to work as soon as he can on some of the issues that are important to him such as water issues and properly compensating county employees.

Incumbent commissioner Troy Thompson retained his seat and was the top voter getter. Thompson and Kailey will be joined by Linda Heath, who will be serving her first term as a commissioner.

In city council ward 1, Scott Royball beat incumbent Allen by 170 votes. This will be Roybal’s second time serving on the city council and he says that means he can hit the ground running and get down to business. Richard Johnson beat out James Seaton for the open seat in city council ward 3.

Republican Harlan Edmonds won the House District 12 seat over democratic incumbent Lee Filer by 91 votes. Edmonds did not run in the primary election, but accepted the republican nomination after he received the most write-in votes.

The closest race of the night was for the fourth and final spot on the LCSD1 Board of Trustees. Jim Landen edged out Lee Beidleman by just two votes. He joins Marguerite Herman as a newly elected trustee. Sandy Shanor was re-elected and Mark Klaassen was elected after being appointed to the school board earlier this year.

Other election results show that Laramie County voters decided to renew both the fifth penny sales tax and the lodging tax. Statewide, local voters only disagreed with the rest of the state in the race for Superintendent of Public Instruction. While Democrat Mike Ceballos got about 1,200 more votes than Republican Jillian Balow in Laramie County, Balow won the statewide race by about 36,000 votes.