Two Cheyenne Teachers Win Arch Coal Outstanding Teacher Award

By Staff 4-30,2015

The Arch Coal Foundation named 10 outstanding Wyoming teachers today as recipients of the prestigious Arch Coal Teacher Achievement Award. Now in its 15th year, it is Wyoming’s longest-running, privately sponsored teacher recognition program.

The announcement was made by John W. Eaves, Arch Coal’s chairman and chief executive officer. He was accompanied by Gov. Matt Mead and Wyoming Education Association Executive Director Ron Sniffin. The recipients were honored at a ceremony at Paintbrush Elementary School in Gillette.

The 2015 Arch Coal Teacher Achievement Award recipients are:

Karen Bayert Woods Learning Center Casper
Cinnamon Rae Dow Summit Elementary School Casper
Emily C. Driskill Rozet Elementary School Rozet
Sarah C. Krank South High School Cheyenne
Tracey Lawrence Paintbrush Elementary School Gillette
Catherine McAtee Hanna Elementary School Hanna
Audra Morrow Glenn Livingston Elementary School Cody
Kim Mugg Buffalo Ridge Elementary School Cheyenne
Caleb Sanders Lovell High School Lovell
Allison L. Shirley Paintbrush Elementary School Gillette


“Good teachers deserve praise and recognition, and we want to put teaching excellence on the front page where it belongs,” Eaves said. “So today, we acknowledge 10 impressive Wyoming classroom teachers.

“These teachers will be remembered by their students many years from now for their patience, kindness and commitment to building lifelong knowledge seekers,” he continued. “On behalf of Arch Coal, our nearly 1,800 employees working in Wyoming and the Arch Coal Foundation, I am pleased to congratulate these recipients for their dedication to excellence and for providing their students with the tools to succeed in today’s increasingly complex world.”

“Great teachers have the ability to inspire their students,” Gov. Mead said. “The teachers honored by Arch Coal have that ability. It is my pleasure each year to join Arch Coal in recognizing these exceptional educators. I congratulate this year’s honorees and thank them for building a strong foundation for our children and Wyoming’s future.”